IAAF World Championships 2015 Beijing – Race walkers

Race Walkers brace up for challenge!!

The Indian team will be seen in action soon at IAAF World Championships 2015 in Beijing, China. This time, there are as many as seven race walkers from India in the fray.

20km race walkersIn the women’s 20km race walk, Asian Games silver-medalist Khushbir Kaur and Sapna who are training under coach Alexander, will hope to make their mark. The men race walkers in the 20km event, Gurmeet Singh, Baljinder Singh and Chandan Singh are training under coach R Gandhi, while National record-holder in 50km race walk, Sandeep Kumar, and Manish Singh Rawat are training under coach Alexander.

Baljinder, who clocked 1:26:24 in the 2015 Kerala National Games, will be participating in his maiden World Championships, while teammates Gurmeet Singh and Chandan Singh competed in the previous edition of 2013 IAAF World Championships held at Moscow. Gurmeet had finished 33rd with a timing of 1:16:47 followed by Chandan who clocked 1:26:51, stood 34th in the Championships.

In recent years, Indian race walkers have shown good results in the Asian Race Walk Championships and IAAF World Race Walking Cup. Gurmeet won medals at Asian Race Walk Championships with a Silver medal in 2012 and two Bronze in 2013 and 2014 Championships respectively. At the 2014 IAAF World Race Walking Cup held in Taicang, China, Indian walkers finished overall in 8th place with 86 points.

All the three race walkers for 20km walk event would be seen in action on August 23, 6am IST.

In the women’s 20km race walk event Asian Games medallist Khusbhir Kaur and Sapna will represent the country. India received a major boost when the 21-year-old Khushbir Kaur won the Silver medal with a timing of 1:33:07. It was the country’s first medal at a major competition in any event in women’s race walk. She also registered the National record on her name with the timing of 1:31:40, which she created in the IAAF World Race Walking Cup 2014, at Taicang, China. She has already qualified for the Rio 2016, with her season’s best performance of 1:33:58 better than the qualification mark of 1:35.

Sapna won the gold at 2015 Kerala National Games clocking 1:40:35 and finished fourth at the Asian Championship 2015 in Nomi, Japan, with her personal best timing of 1:41:08.

Russia, China and Japan are the dominant nations in both men’s and women’s 20 km race walking. Currently Japanese walker Yusuke holds the world record with the timing of 1:16:36 in men’s 20km race walk and Chinese Hong Liu holds the world record of 1:24:38 in women’s category.

Check out the complete profile of athletes, click here. 

Follow us on Facebook:


Sorry - Comments are closed