Athletics federation of India
You are visitor No: 2646251

National Youth Athletics: Haryana topples Kerala in championship race

23-Apr-2017 20:16

National Youth Athletics: Haryana topples Kerala in championship race

Hyderabad – 23 April 2017:

Haryana state wrests the “numero uno” position from arch rivals Kerala after six years in the National Youth Athletics championships which concluded at G.M.C. Balayogi Stadium here on Sunday evening after winning the overall champion title with 166.5 points. 

Kerala, which stood at the top place in the last five years, could manage only 134.75 points to finish runners-up.  However they retained the team crown for girls (100 pts) while Haryana boys tops with 108.5 points at the end of the three day meet.

Last year’s World School Games champion Rohit Yadav (Haryana) improved his personal best in javelin throw with an excellent 76.11m throw. It was also a new meet record.  With today’s performance he is very close to Song Qingshu of China, who won with 76.36m in their youth nationals at Nanchang just four days ago.  An interesting dual for the top spot between the duo will be on cards in the Asian Youth championships at Bangkok next month.  Both Rohit and his Uttar Pradesh teammate Avinash Yadav, who finished second today with 71.59m, have attained the world youth qualification also.

Kerala pole vaulter Nivya Antony equaled her national youth record by scaling to 3.32m at Hyderabad, an height she first recorded at Coimbatore last November during the junior nationals.   



200m: 1. Akshay Nain (Delhi) 22.00 secs, 2. Dibyendu Acharjee (AFI) 22.32s, 3. Ashish Lathwal (Haryana) 22.62s;

800m: 1. Abhishek Mathew (Kerala) 1:55.85, 2. Harpreet Shira (Haryana) 1:56.16, 3. Jitendra Yadav (Uttar Pradesh) 1:56.60;

2000m Steeplechase: 1. Noor Hasan (Uttar Pradesh) 6:06.32, 2. Vicky Goswami (Haryana) 6:23.11, 3. Manish Sharma (Chattisgarh) 6:24.19;

400m Hurdles: 1. S. Ma heshwaran (Tamil Nadu) 54.58 secs, 2. Vishal Malik (Uttar Pradesh) 56.38s, 3. Prasanjit Xaxa (Odisha) 56.71s;

Triple Jump: 1. C. Praveen (Tamil Nadu) 15.00m, 2. A. Ajith (Kerala) 14.92m, 3. Akash M Varghese (Kerala) 14.70m;

Javelin Throw: 1. Rohit Yadav (Uttar Pradesh) 76.11m NMR, 2. Avinash Yadav (Uttar Pradesh) 71.59m, 3. Vikas Yadav (Andhra Pradesh) 69.59m;

Decathlon: 1. Mohit (Haryana) 6116 points, 2. Sourav Rathi (Maharashtra) 6034 pts, 3. K.P. Arjun (Kerala) 5361 pts;

Medley Relay: 1. Haryana 1:57.86, 2. Kerala 1:58.46, 3. Tamil Nadu 1:58.99


200m: 1. Rajashree Prasad (West Bengal) 25.22 secs, 2. Hima Das (Assam) 25.85s, 3. A.T. Daneshwari (Karnataka) 25.88s;

800m: 1. Ankita Chahal (Delhi) 2:12.53, 2. Shraddha Kathiriya (Gujarat) 2:14.36, 3. Pooja (Haryana) 2:14.38;

2000m Steeplechase: 1. Kajal Sharma (Uttar Pradesh) 7:33.90, 2. Sonali Pawar (Maharashtra) 8:04.94, 3. G. Gayathri (Kerala) 8:07.62;

400m Hurdles: 1. J. Vishnupriya (Kerala) 1:06.46, 2. Delna Philip (Kerala) 1:06.77, 3. Vaishnavi Yadav (Maharashtra) 1:08.52;

Pole Vault: 1. A. Nivya Antony (Kerala) 3.32m NYR, 2. Reshma Patel (Uttar Pradesh) 3.00m, 3. Malavika Ramesh (Kerala) 2.70m;

Triple Jump: 1. Lizbeth Karoline Joseph (Kerala) 12.22m, 2. Sandra Babu (Kerala) 12.02m, 3. Deepanshi Singh (Uttar Pradesh) 11.87m;

Discus Throw: 1. M. Karuniya (Tamil Nadu) 41.17m, 2. Mahashree Baloda (Delhi) 38.74m, 3. Pooja (Haryana) 38.27m;

Heptathlon: 1. Geeta (Haryana) 3643 points, 2. Uajala Kumari Singh (West Bengal) 3607 pts, 3. A. Janani (Tamil Nadu) 3587 pts;

Medley Relay: 1. Kerala 2:17.45, 2. Delhi 2:17.79, 3. Karnataka 2:18.57;


Overall championship:

Winners: Haryana 166.5 points, Runners-up: Kerala 134.75 pts

Team Championships:

BOYS: 1. Haryana 108.5 pts, 2. Uttar Pradesh 73.5 pts

GIRLS: 1. Kerala 100 pts, 2. Haryana 58 pts

Best Athletes:

BOYS: Damneet Singh (Punjab, Javelin throw) 1082 pts

GIRLS: Aparna Roy (Kerala, 100m hurdles) 981 pts

Day 3 Results : Click Here

Overall Results : Click Here

Championships : Click here

    Tags :

Upcoming Events


Online Media Partner