AFI nominates selection committee members for juniors, seniors

AFI Media

23th March 2021

New Delhi. The Athletics Federation of India today nominated Olympian Gurbachan Singh Randhawa as the chairman of selection committee for seniors while PT Usha, Olympian and multiple time Asian Games gold medallist, is named as the chairperson of selection committee for juniors.

Announcing the members of selection committees, Adille J Sumariwalla, AFI President, said, “AFI is proud to have so many legendary athletes who are always willing to help the federation in all its important decisions. The role of each and every member of selection committee is very important and hence, we have included former athletes who have plenty of experience for this important role.”

The members of selection committees are-

Seniors– GS Randhawa (chairman), Bahadur Singh, Bahadur Singh Saggu, Uday Prabhu, Praveen Jolly, Jyotirmoyee Sikdar, Krishna Poonia and Gopal Saini (members);

Juniors– Soma Biswas, Anand Menzes, Satbir Singh, Sandeep Sarkaria, Sunita Rani, Rama Chandran, Joseph Abraham, Harwant Kaur, M.D. Valsama, Kamal Ali Khan (members). AFI President, Secretary, Chief Coach and Chairman- Planning Committee will be Ex-Officio members of the committees.