Indian athletes won four gold medals on Day-Two of Asian U20 Meet in Dubai

New Delhi

The Indian contingent claimed four gold medals on Day-two of the 21st Asian U20 Athletics Championships being held in Dubai. India’s overall medal tally swelled to nine on Thursday.

Anurag Singh Kaler (men’s shot put), Pavana Nagaraj (women’s long jump), Ekta Dey (women’s 3000m steeplechase) and Ranvir Singh (men’s 3,000m steeplechase) were successful in winning gold medals on Thursday.

Ekta Dey claimed gold in the women’s 3,000m steeplechase with a time of 10:31.92 seconds, while Ranvir Singh was victorious in the men’s group. His gold medal winning time was 9:22.62 seconds.

Later in the evening session, Pavana Nagaraj added fourth gold (6.32m) of the day at the long jump pit.

Earlier, Anurag Singh Kaler won gold medal in the men’s shot put event.

In the morning session, race walker Aarti set the ball rolling, winning a hard fought bronze medal in the women’s 10,000m.

Aarti’s bronze winning time of 47:45.33 seconds was better than the World U20 Athletics Championships qualification time of 49 minutes.

Later, throwers added three medals, including gold to the team’s tally.

Anurag Singh Kaler took time to settle down in the shot put. He battled with South Korean Park Sihoon for the gold.

Kaler’s gold winning throw of 19.23m was achieved in third attempt. His opening throw was 18.44 and second attempt was 18.69m. Fourth and fifth were no marks and sixth and final throw was 18.79m.

Park Sihoon won silver with a throw of 19.23m but took home silver. Kaler had a better average in the contest, which denied Korea a gold medal.

Defending champion Siddharth Choudhary settled for bronze with a throw of 19.02m scored in the second attempt. His other throws were below the 19m mark.

Amanat Kamboj, practicing at Patiala’s National Centre of Excellence (NCOE) in Punjab and supported by REC Limited added silver to the team’s tally. Her best throw was 50.45m.

Aman Choudhary also won bronze in the men’s 400m. His time was 47.53 seconds.

Vinod Singh won 5,000m silver with a time of 14:09.44 secs.