Indian ultra runners all set for 24 Hour World Championships

AFI Media

25th Oct. 2019


New Delhi.Nine ultra runners will represent India at the International Association of Ultrarunners (IAU) World 24 Hour Championships to be held at Albi, France over Saturday-Sunday. The Indian team comprises five men and four women.


In all, 45 countries are participating in the championships this year, and leading runners from across the globe including Camille Herron (USA) the Womens World record holder in 24 hour race will be competing at Albi.


AFI President AdilleSumariwalla mentioned that “The team’s progress and preparation has been impressive.  AFI is happy to see the standards of Indian performance improve in ultra running events year after year. We started sending teams to IAU World Championships since 2017 only and has already made a mark when we won an individual and team bronze at the 24 hour Asia Oceania championships in Taipei in December,2018. I sincerely wish to thank NEB Sports and IDBI Federal Life Insurance for once again supporting Indian ultra running team.”


Nagaraj Adiga, CMD NEB Sports, said “I am confident that many of the team members would surpass their previous best performances.Other countries will notice that India is an emerging power in the world of Ultra running. We hope to see new Indian records at this championship. We are happy to support these efforts”.


The team this year is much better prepared after having attended a camp in Bangalore in August and getting valuable inputs from coaches, nutritionists and physiotherapists. The support crew includes 3 ultramarathon runners and a leading sports medicine specialist.


List of the Indian participants and maximum distance run in a 24Hrs official event-



Ullas Narayana-  250.371 Kms

Sunil Sharma-  215.6 Kms

BinaySah – 222.240 Kms

Pranaya Mohanty – 211.6 Kms

Kanan Jain – 207.2 Kms



Apoorva Chaudhary – 176.8 Kms

Hemlata Saini – 172.3 Kms

Priyanka Bhatt – 170 Kms

ShyamalaSathyanarayana – 167.6 Kms



Support Crew: Sunil Chainani, Tobias Lundgren, Narayana Hosahally

Dr Sitaraman and Ashok Daniel.