National Youth: Seema, Gurindervir post national marks

National Youth Athletics: Seema, Gurindervir post national marks

Hyderabad – 21 April 2017:

The opening day of 14th National Youth Athletics championships, which commenced at G.M.C. Balayogi Stadium in Gachibowli here, witnessed national youth records being bettered in two events.

When the first day’s proceedings unfolded in the morning Seema, Himachal Pradesh’s petite distance runner from Dharamsala, erased Kerala girl Anumol Thampi’s meet and national mark of 10:00.22 with a noteworthy 9 minutes 56.25 seconds clocking. Maharashtra’s Poonam Sonune (10:02.14) and U.P. girl Amrita Patel (10:04.85) clinched the other two medals.

Delhi lad Raj Shekhar, who won the boys’ race with a timing of 8:42.93, missed the world youth qualifying mark (8:42.00) narrowly.

In the evening, Punjab sprinter Gurindervir Singh provided a stunner by taking off the national record in boys’ 100m final clocking 10.74 secs.  His time improved Praveen Muthukumaran’s six year old mark by just 1/100th of a second.  Delhi’s Ch. Palender Kumar pushed him so hard and finished second with another noteworthy 10.80s.

Gurvindervir equaled the winning time of Huang Yonglian in Chinese youth nationals that ended in Nanchang on Thursday and that revealed his medal ambitions in the forthcoming Asian Youth Championships at Bangkok, Thailand, next month.

As expected Bengal’s Rajashree Prasad won the girls’ 100m in 12.33 secs.  Earlier this year Rajshree clocked 12.17 secs to win the national school games title at Pune.

Haryana throwers ruled the day with best performances, starting with Haryana discus thrower Abhay Gupta in the morning.  Gupta hurled the disc to a stupendous 58.80m that upsets teammate and favourite Sahil Silwal (53.74m) to sidelines.  In shot put Mohit heaved the iron ball to 19.01m for the top spot in the absence of national youth record-holder Dipender Dabas (20.63m) who is also the event leader in Asian youth rankings last season.

Tamil Nadu javelin thrower N. Hemamalini unleashed the spear to 44.03m to retain the numero uno position.  However it is lesser than her best of 45.26m from the last season.  In long jump, her teammate R. Punitha took the top spot with a modest 5.75m.



100m: 1. Gurindervir Singh (Punjab) 10.74 secs NYR, 2. Ch. Palender Kumar (Delhi) 10.80s, 3. Saurabh Singh (Uttar Pradesh) 11.08s;

3000m: 1. Raj Shekhar (Delhi) 8:42.93, 2. Vikas (Haryana) 8:43.15, 3. Avinash Patel (UP) 8:53.88;

High Jump: 1. Gurjeet Singh (Har) 2.04m, 2. K.S. Anandhu (Kerala) 2.02m, 3. Swadhin Kumar Majhi (Odisha) and Ravi Kumar (Har) 1.96m;

Shot Put: 1. Mohit (Har) 19.01m, 2. Kartikey (Del) 18.79m, 3. Abhishek Singh (UP) 18.65m;

Discus Throw: 1. Abhay Gupta (Har) 58.80m, 2. Sahil Silwal (Har) 53.74m, 3. Basukesh Poonia (Rajasthan) 53.73m;


100m: 1. Rajashree Prasad (Bengal) 12.33 secs, 2. A.T. Daneshwari (Karnataka) 12.42s, 3. Hima Das (Assam) 12.65s;

3000m: 1. Seema (Himachal Pradesh) 9:56.25 NYR, 2. Poonam Sonune (Maharashtra) 10:02.14, 3. Amrita Patel (UP) 10:04.85;

Long Jump: 1. R. Punitha (Tamil Nadu) 5.75m, 2. R. Kusuma (Telangana) 5.53m, 3. Manisha Merel (Odisha) 5.43m;

Shot Put: 1. Yogita (Har) 14.31m, 2. Paramjot Kaur (Punjab) 14.14m, 3. Poorna Raorane (Maharashtra) 13.82m;

Javelin Throw: 1. N. Hemamalini (Tamil Nadu) 44.03m, 2. Anjani Kumari (Bihar) 39.19m, 3. Gayatri Panwar (Punjab) 38.28m

RESULTS DAY 1 Click here

START LIST DAY 2 Click here