Pranav, Kevinaa come up with standout performances on second day of National U23 Meet

Bilaspur, Oct 30: Maharashtra sprinter Pranav Gurav’s 100m victory and Kevinaa Annavi’s women’s High Jump riveting contest with Pavana Nagaraj and Manshi (Uttar Pradesh) were the most attractive of the `meet records rewritten on the second day of the second AFI National Open U23 Athletics Championships at the BR Yadav Stadium in Behetrai here today.

The 21-year-old Pranav Gurav, silver medalist in the inaugural edition in New Delhi last year, sizzled with a win in 10.39 seconds that not only improved on his own meet record of 10.47 seconds set in the semifinals yesterday but also earned him a place among India’s 15 fastest ever.

The women’s High Jump saw an intense battle with Kevinaa Annavi, daughter of former men’s National record holder Nallusamy Annavi, emerging on top. She cleared 1.76m for the meet record, leaving Pavana Nagaraj and Manshi with the minor medals. They had both cleared 1.74m with personal best efforts, with Pavana Nagaraj winning the silver on a countback.

Agasara Nandini (Telangana) scripted a 100m Hurdles meet record time of 13.73 seconds while M Karunya (Tamil Nadu) won the women’s Discus Throw with a meet record effort of 48.39m, Pavithra Venkatesh (Tamil Nadu) raised the women’s Pole Vault meet record to 4.00m and Mansi Negi (Uttarakhand) lowered the meet record in the 20000m Race walk to 1:40:01.20.

Samardeep Gill (Madhya Pradesh) and Sahib Singh (Delhi) claimed a share each odf the men’s Shot Put meet record with 17.79m efforts, the former winning gold on countback. Sanjay Kumar (Rajasthan) accounted for the other meet record by winning the men’s 20000m Race Walk in 1 hour 27 minutes 13.97 seconds.

The results (final)


100m: 1. Pranav Gurav (Maharashtra) 10.39 seconds; 2. C Arun (Tamil Nadu) 10.42; 3. Shashikanth Angadi (Karnataka) 10.57.

400m: 1. Nitin Kumar (Uttar Pradesh) 47.04 seconds; 2. K Avinash (Tamil Nadu) 47.65; 3. Rince (Kerala) 48.13.

1500m: 1. Parvej Khan (Madhya Pradesh) 3:51.79; 2. Abhishek Singh Thakur (Madhya Pradesh) 3:52.14; 3. Ritesh Ohre (Madhya Pradesh) 3:52.18.

3000m Steeplechase: 1. Shubham Bhandare (Maharashtra) 8:54.79; 2. Atul Poonia (Rajasthan) 8:55.34; 3. Hritik Balyan (Delhi) 9:02.27.

110m Hurdles: 1. G Nishanth Raja (Tamil Nadu) 14.17 seconds; 2. Muhammed (Kerala) 14.39; 3. R Manav (Tamil Nadu) 14.42.

Shot Put: 1. Samardeep Gill (Madhya Pradesh) 17.79m; 2. Sahib Singh (Delhi) 17.79; 3. Harjot Singh (Punjab) 17.60.

Discus Throw: 1. Ikram Khan (Madhya Pradesh) 51.62m; 2. Mohammed Saqlain Ahmed (Karnataka) 51.25; 3. Dinesh Kumar (Rajasthan) 51.06.

Decathlon: 1. Mohit (Haryana) 6384 points (100: 11.72; LJ: 6.35; SP: 10.77; HJ: 1.77; 400: 53.26; 110mH: 15.87; DT: 33.44; PV: 4.20; JT: 54.49; 1500: 4:53.15); 2. Yogesh (Madhya Pradesh) 6257; 3. Rathod Lokesh Damu (Karnataka) 6069.

20000m Race Walk: 1. Sanjay Kumar (Rajasthan) 1:27:13.97; 2. Paramdeep Mor (Haryana) 1:27:13.97; 3. Farman Ali (Uttar Pradesh) 1:27:17.64.


100m: 1. AT Daneshwari (Karnataka) 11.63 seconds; 2. Giridharani Ravikumar (Tamil Nadu) 11.89; 3. N Swethashree (Tamil Nadu) 12.24.

400m: 1. Olimba Steffi (Tamil Nadu) 55.90 seconds; 2. K Roshini (Tamil Nadu) 57.04; 3. B Sumathira (Tamil Nadu) 57.23.

1500m: 1. Nikita Sharma (Himachal Pradesh) 4:29.52; 2. Gouri Kotiyal (Uttarakhand) 4:31.81; 3. Disha Borse (Maharashtra) 4:33.31.

3000m Steeplechase: 1. Bhagyashree Navale (Gujarat) 10:27.89; 2. Vaishnavi Sawant (Maharashtra) 10:45.23; 3. Maneesha (Madhya Pradesh) 10:46.25.

100m Hurdles: 1. Agasara Nandini (Telangana) 13.73 seconds: 2. Ann Tomy (Kerala) 14.23; 3. Sathi Patra (West Bengal) 14.24.

High Jump: 1. Kevinaa Annavi (Tamil Nadu) 1.76m; 2. Pavana Nagaraj (Karnataka) 1.74; 3. Manshi (Uttar Pradesh) 1.74.

Discus Throw: 1. M Karunya (Tamil Nadu) 48.39m; 2. Sunita (Haryana) 47.63; 3. Priti (Rajasthan) 45.58.

20000m Race Walk: 1. Mansi Negi (Uttarakhand) 1:40:01.20; 2. Reshma Patel (Uttarakhand) 1:41:33.10; 3. Pooja Kumawat (Rajasthan) 1:41:55.24.