Selva Prabhu’s lone legal Triple Jump effort steals limelight as 17 attain qualifying marks

AFI Media

Nadiad, June 4: Tamil Nadu’s Selva Prabhu made more waves than any of the 16 other athletes who attained World Athletics U20 Championships qualifying marks or the three athletes who rewrote Meet Records on the final day of the 20th Federation Cup U20 Junior Championships here today. He produced an effort on 15.84m on his only legal jump in six tries.

The 17-year-old who hopped, stepped and jumped a career best distance of 16.03m when winning the silver medal in the Khelo India University Games and extended it to 16.11m in the Tamil Nadu State Championships, was unable to find the right rhythm barring the one effort when he did not get a red flag.

Pradeep Senthilkumar (Tamil Nadu) accounted for the only meet record in the men’s events on Saturday when he clocked 1:49.59. Tanya Chaudhary (Uttar Pradesh) whose 57.09m in the women’s Hammer Throw caught the eye while Simmy (Haryana) clocked 1:00.72 in the women’s 400m Hurdles to get the Meet Record and World U20 qualification.

Among those who made the qualifying mark for the World U20 on Saturday were all 800m podium finishers – Pradeep Senthilkumar (Tamil Nadu); Arjun Waskale and Somanth Chauhan (Haryana) in men’s final and Ashakiran Barla (Jharkhand), Laxita Sandilea (Gujarat) and Urvashi (Haryana) in the women’s final.

There men’s 400m Hurdles was the other event that saw all podium finishers, Hardeep (Punjab); Aryan Kashyapa (Karnataka) and Karna Bag (West Bengal) attain qualifying marks. Priya H Mohan (Karnataka) beat Priyanka Sikarwar (Uttar Pradesh) in the women’s 200m final with a time of 23.98 seconds but provided pace for the silver medallist to qualify.

Drashtiben P Chaudhri (Gujarat) and Supriti Kachap (Jharkhand) in women’s 3000m, Mansi Negi (Uttarakhand) and Rachana (Haryana) in the Women’s 10000m Race Walk were the others who attained qualifying marks.

The results:


200m: 1. TK Vishal (Tamil Nadu) 21.71 seconds2; 2. R Saisiddharth (Tamil Nadu) 21.78; 3. Mohammed Amir (Delhi) 22.11.

800m: 1. Pradeep Senthilkumar (Tamil Nadu) 1:49.59 (New Meet Record. Old: 1:49.95, Hyderabad, 2015); 2. Arjun Waskale (Madhya Pradesh) 1:50.33; 3. Somanth Chauhan (Haryana) 1:50.54.

3000m: 1. Ritik Deol (Delhi) 8:29.16; 3. Pankaj Kumar (Uttar Pradesh) 8:29.39; 3. Shivam (Uttar Pradesh) 8:29.50.

3000m Steeplechase: 1. Vishal Chauhan (Uttar Pradesh) 9:33.24; 2. Dharmender (Haryana) 9:38.93; 3. Vikas Kumar (Rajasthan) 9:44.16.

400m Hurdles: 1. Hardeep (Punjab) 52.40 seconds; 2. Aryan Kashyapa (Karnataka) 52.75; 3. Karna Bag (West Bengal) 52.77.

High Jump: 1. Praveen Kuamr (Delhi) and Md Asraf Ali (West Bengal) 2.06; 3. Aniket Mane (Maharashtra) 2.06.

Triple Jump: 1. Selva Prabhu (Tamil Nadu) 15.84m; 2. Akhilesh (Karnataka) 15.41; 3. Sukhpreet Singh (Punjab) 15.13.

Hammer Throw: 1. Vinit (Haryana) 66.87m; 2. Mohammad Shahban (Uttar Pradesh) 66.69; 3. Pratik Pingale (Maharashtra) 63.91.


200m: 1. Priya H Mohan (Karnataka) 23.98 seconds; 2. Priyanka Sikarwar (Uttar Pradesh) 24.26; 3. Jeevanji Deepthi (Telangana) 24.61.

800m: 1. Ashakiran Barla (Jharkhand) 2:06.78; 2. Laxita Sandilea (Gujarat) 2:08.24; 3. Urvashi (Haryana) 2:08.56.

3000m: 1. Drashtiben P Chaudhri (Gujarat) 9:39.88; 2. Supriti Kachap (Jharkhand) 9:41.26; 3. Mamata Pal (Uttar Pradesh) 10:01.25.

3000m Steeplechase: 1. Pallavi Jagdale (Maharashtra) 11:25.25; 2. Shreya (Uttar Pradesh) 11:43.76; 3. Jada Vinodbhai (Gujarat) 11:44.15.

400m Hurdles: 1. Simmy (Haryana) 1:00.72 (New Meet Record. Old: 1:00.91, Tiasha Samaddar, Hyderabad, 2015); 2. Ramandeep Kaur (Punjab) 1:01.18; 3. Shreeya Rajesh (Karnataka) 1:03.09.

10000m Race Walk: 1. Mansi Negi (Uttarakhand) 49:54.88; 2. Rachana (Haryana) 50:33.60; 3. Sejal Anil Singh (Maharashtra) 50:58.70.

Triple Jump: 1. Poorva Sawant (Mahrashtra) 12.65m; 2. S Emayatharasi (Tamil Nadu) 12.34; 3. Nimisha Dayma (Madhya Pradesh) 11.94.

Hammer Throw: 1. Tanya Chaudhary (Uttar Pradesh) 57.09m (New Meet Record. Old: 52.49, Harshita Sehrawat, Sangrur, 2021); 2. Harshita Sehrawat (Delhi) 55.62; 3. Manjita (Rajasthan) 47.33.

Javelin Throw: 1. Ramyashree Jain (Karnataka) 44.42m; 2. Khushee Yadav (Rajasthan) 38.52; 3. Sonali Pawar (Maharashtra) 35.46.

Heptathlon: 1. Pooja (Haryana) 4699 points (100mH: 15.95; HJ: 1.61; SP: 11.41; 200m: 27.44; LJ: 5.14; JT: 39.17; 800m: 2:30.61); 2. M Kavya Manohran (Tamil Nadu) 4190; 3. Doly Sonker