Services triple jumper Arun AB wins gold medal with a National Games record


Services triple jumper Arun AB hogged the limelight on the penultimate day of the track and field events of the 37th National Games here on Thursday at Bambolim Athletics Stadium.

On his way to winning the gold medal with a distance of 16.79m, he broke the previous National Games record of 16.68m set by Praveen Chithravel last year in Gujarat.

Away from the field events, Odisha’s experienced international sprinter Srabani Nanda fought hard to clinch gold in the women’s 200m, while Chanda KM of Delhi was outright winner in the women’s 800m.

In an exciting 200m duel, Srabani spoiled Kamaljeet Kaur of Punjab and Jyothi Yarraji from Andhra Pradesh party by crossing the finish line at 23.69 seconds.

“I’m too happy to have won gold in the season ending competition,” Srabani said. The Odisha’s sprinter will take a break before starting her preparation for the next season. “My next focus will be indoor competition,” she added.

Jyothi, winner of gold in women’s 100m hurdles was disappointed with her bronze winning performance, saying she wasn’t as good as expected. “I was a bit tired,” she added.

Sowmiya Murugan of Andhra Pradesh was winner of heptathlon title. She had 5127 points in her kitty.



200m: Abhin B Devadiga (Karnataka) 20.89 secs, Shashikantha VA (Karnataka) 20.97 secs, Animesh Kujur (Odisha) 20.99 secs.

800m:  Pradeep Senthil Kumar (Tamil Nadu) 1:48.10 seconds, Shakeel (Rajasthan) 1:48.65 secs, Prakash Gadade (Services) 1:48.75 secs.

Hammer throw: Taranveer Singh Bains (Services) 65.09m, Ajay Kumar (Haryana) 64.55m, Niraj Kumar (Services) 63.12m.

Triple jump: Arun AB (Services) 16.79m national games record), Karthik Unnikrishnan (Services)16.57m, Selva Prabhu (Tamil Nadu) 16.56m.


200m: Srabani Nanda (Odisha) 23.69 secs, Kamaljeet Kaur (Punjab) 23.84 secs, Jyothi Yarraji  (Andhra Pradesh) 23.95 secs.

800m: Chanda KM (Delhi) 2:01.74, Yamuna Ladkat (Maharashtra) 2:03.24 secs, Pooja (Haryana) 2:03.69 secs.

Heptathlon: Sowmiya Murugan (Andhra Pradesh) 5127 points, Tanu (Haryana) 5037 points, Sonu Kumari (Haryana) 5032 points.