Shaili Singh’s 6.76m and Tajinderpal Singh Toor steal sprinter Amlan Borgohain’s thunder

AFI Media 

Bengaluru, April 15: Uttar Pradesh teenager Shaili Singh leapt into the all-time second place behind her idol Anju Bobby George with a spectacular 6.76m effort in the women’s Long Jump in the AFI Indian Grand Prix 4 Athletics meet at the Sree Kanteerava Stadium here on Saturday.

Later, Shot Putter Tajinderpal Singh Toor came up his career’s second best effort, 21.20m to share some of the limelight. Each of his five valid tries went past the 20m line, his best coming at the climax of the competition. It was only the third time that he was able to send the iron ball past the 21m mark after the 21.49m and 21.10m efforts in the span of a week in June 2021 in Patiala. 

Together with Shaili Singh’s brilliance, Tajinderpal Singh Toor’s exhibition of Shot Put under lights stole Amlan Borgohain’s thunder. The Assam sprinter claimed the men’s 100-200 double to hold the attention of the sparse crowd watching the events.

Shaili Singh, 19, improved her personal best by 28cm and catapulted over Aishwaya Babu (6.73), JJ Shobha and V Neena (6.66), Mayookha Johnu (6.64), M Prajusha, Nayana James and Ancy Sojan (6.55) to be behind Anju Bobby George (6.83m) on the all-time list. She qualified for the Asian Games, but fell an agonizing 9cm short of the 2023 World Championships qualifying standard.

Shaili Singh’s domination was so complete that each of her four valid jumps was good enough for het to get gold ahead of Nayana James’s best effort of 6.53m. Shaili Singh’s series read 6.58m, foul, 6.76m, 6.64m, foul and 6.66. It was a veritable demonstration of coach Bobby George’s assertion that his ward was ready to claim the National Record sooner than later.

Amlan Borgohain would not mind conceding the spotlight to her but the way he left the opposition in his wake in the 200m was creditable. The Assam sprinter now owns the three fastest times by Indians in the half-lapper. He set the National Record of 20.52 seconds in the AFI Federation Cup in Kozhikode on April 6 last year and the 20.55 he obtained in the National Games in Gandhinagar on October 4 last. 

Jyothi Yarraji (Andhra Pradesh), the rising track star, lost out on a chance to attain a sprint double when she was disqualified for a foul start in the 100m. However, she overcome that shock and disappointment to win the 200m with a measure of comfort against Archana Suseendran (Tamil Nadu). Running a 200m after a year, she finished in a personal best time of 23.60 seconds. 

Trailing in the fifth place at the bell, Krishan Kumar (Haryana) caught up with race leader Abhishek Pal (Uttar Pradesh) with just 10m left to the beam and used his long strides to break the favourite’s will over the last couple of meters. Considering that it was only his first 1500m race at the national level after doing well in the 800m, Krishna Kumar was impressive in his victory. 

DP Manu (Karnataka) and Rohit Yadav (Uttar Pradesh) produced a classy men’s Javelin Throw contest, slinging five throws over the 80m mark between them. Manu had the two best throws of the evening and won the crown with a best effort of 84.33m. Shivpal Singh (Uttar Pradesh) marked his returned to competition with a best effort of 79.70m on his second try.

The results


100m (Races A & B): 1. Amlan Borgohain (Assam) 10.53 seconds; 2. Hasssan Saaid (Maldives) 10.66; 3. Animesh Kujur (Chhattisgarh) 10.69.

200m (Races A & B): 1. Amlan Borgohain (Assam) 20.78 seconds; 2. Animesh Kujur (Chhattisgarh) 21.26; 3. Muhammed Anas Yahiya (Kerala) 21.35.

400m (Races A, B, C & D): 1. Amoj Jacob (Delhi) 46.13 seconds; 2. Muhammed Ajmal (Kerala) 46.59; 3. T Santhosh Kumar (Tamil Nadu) 47.24.

1500m: 1. Krishan Kumar (Haryana) 3:49.96; 2. Abhishek Pal (Uttar Pradesh) 3:50.06; 3. Prakash Balu Gadade (Maharashtra) 3:51.49.

5000m: 1. Gulveer Singh (Uttar Pradesh) 14:08.33; 2. Murli Kumar Gavit (Gujarat) 14:29.46; 3. Rahul (Delhi) 14:32.02.

3000m Steeplechase: 1. Bhupal Singh (Uttarakhand) 9:36.06.

High Jump: 1. Aadarsh Ram (Tamil Nadu) 2.10m; 2. Aniket Subhash Mane (Maharashtra) 2.05; 3. Kaustubha Jaiswal (Madhya Pradesh) 2.05.

Long Jump: 1. Muhammed Anees Yahiya (Kerala) 7.87m; 2. Rishabh Rishishwar (Uttar Pradesh) 7.76; 3. S Arya (Karnataka) 7.64.

Triple Jump: 1. Mohammed Salahuddin (Tamil Nadu) 15.77m; 2. Yuva Raj (Tamil Nadu) 15.56; 3. Jwngsar Basumatary (Assam) 15.22.

Shot Put: 1. Tajinderpal Singh Toor (Punjab) 21.20m; 2. Karanveer Singh (Punjab) 19.20; 3. Aniket (Uttarakhand) 17.30.

Javelin Throw: 1. DP Manu (Karnataka) 84.33m; 2. Rohit Yadav (Uttar Pradesh) 81.81; 3. Shivpal Singh (Uttar Pradesh) 79.70.


100m (Races A & B): 1. Archana Suseendran (Tamil Nadu) 11.79 seconds; 2. Nithya Gandhe (Telangana) 12.85; 3. AT Daneshwari (Karnataka) 11.85. 

200m (Races A & B): 1. Jyothi Yarraji (Andhra Pradesh) 23.60 seconds; 2. Archana Suseendran (Tamil Nadu) 23.86; 3. AT Daneshwari (Karnataka) 24.59.

400m: 1. Dandi Jyothika Sri (Andhra Pradesh) 54.15; 2. Kunja Rajitha (Andhra Pradesh) 55.57; 3. Twinkle Pundir (Madhya Pradesh) 56.57.

1500m: 1. CM Rashi (Karnataka) 4:41.58; 2. PU Chitra (Kerala) 4:42.90; 3. Nitin (Haryana) 5:46.05.

5000m: 1. Ankita Dhyani (Uttarakhand) 16:08.78; 2.Preenu Yadav (Uttar Pradesh) 17:07.53; 3. Anitima Pal (Uttar Pradesh) 17:13.74.

3000m Steeplechase: 1. Susmita Tigga (Odisha) 10:53.94; 2. Priti Chaudhary (Uttar Pradesh) 11:20.70; 3. Shaheen Dharwad (Karnataka) 12:32.82.

Pole Vault: 1. Baranica Elangovan (Tamil Nadu) 4.10m; 2. G Sindhushree (Karnataka) 3.60.

Long Jump: 1. Shaili Singh (Uttar Pradesh) 6.76m; 2. Nayana James (Kerala) 6.53m; 3. Karthika Gothandapani (Andhra Pradesh) 6.15.

Shot Put: 1. Manpreet Kaur (Haryana) 16.81m; 2. Abha Khatua (Maharashtra) 15.98; 3. Tunlai Narzary (Assam) 14.30.

Javelin Throw: 1. Anjani Kumari (Bihar) 47.03m; 2. Hemamalini Neelalandan (Tamil Nadu) 46.27; 3. Uma Choudhary (Rajasthan) 45.73.