Maharashtra’s 110m hurdles specialist Tejas Ashok Shirse among several athletes to excel on day-two of U23 national meet

AFI Media


Maharashtra’s 110m hurdles specialist Tejas Ashok Shirse was on song at the third edition of the National Open U23 Athletics Championships being held here at Sector 7 Sports Complex. While Tamil Nadu sprinters emerged the fastest male and female runners of the meet, Shirse was impressive both in the preliminary round and the finals on Saturday and was among several athletes who etched their names in record books.

Shirse improved his own meet record of 14.12 seconds set in 2021 in the heats as well in the finals. On his way to winning gold he clocked 13.71 seconds.

A Graceson Jeeva of Odisha also dipped below the previous meet record as he clocked 14.02 secs to win silver. Bronze went to Dhanush Adithan G of Tamil Nadu whose time was 14.21 secs.

Maharashtra was on course to win gold in the women’s 100m hurdles but West Bengal’s Moumita Mondal spoiled the show.

Moumita not only improved the meet record in the 100m hurdles but denied Maharashtra’s Pranjali Dilip Patil from winning the top position. Moumita’s gold medal winning time was 13.65 seconds which was better than the previous record 13.72 secs in the name of Agasara Nandini set in 2022.

Pranjali settled for silver with a time of 13.90 secs, while Aparna Roy of Kerala took home bronze as she clocked 14.08 secs.

Gujarat’s Sunil Joliya Jinabhai and Sourabh Antil of Haryana also improved the men’s 3000m steeplechase meet record of 8:49.13 seconds. But Jinabhai won gold with a time of 8:39.98 seconds, while Antil clocked 8:43.29 seconds to win silver.

In the women’s 20,000m race walk, Sejal Anil Singh of Maharashtra clocked 1:37:53.71 to win gold and improve the meet record of 1:40:02 seconds set by Mansi Negi in 2022. Mansi of Uttarakhand settled for silver with a time of 1:38:0.37 secs.

Meet record was also set in the men’s discus throw. Dinesh Kumar of Rajasthan hurled the discus to a distance of 53.66m to improve the old meet record of 53.27m.

Punjab’s Dhanvir Singh also improved the meet record in men’s shot put. His gold winning performance of 19.56m which was better than the previous record of 17.79m.

Haryana’s Sonu Kumari was leading day-one of heptathlon. She has collected 2950 points.



100m: Mariya Nivetha P (Tamil Nadu) 11.79 seconds, Chelimi (Andhra Pradesh) 11.86 secs, Bishakha Singh (Jharkhand) 11.98 secs.

400m: Simarjeet Kaur (Punjab) 54.41 seconds, Kunja Rajitha (Andhra Pradesh) 54.62 secs, Vidhi Rawal (Jharkhand) 54.71 secs.

800m: Urvashi (Haryana) 2:08.80 seconds, Amandeep Kaur (Punjab) 2:10.27 seconds, Shivanki Awasthi (Uttar Pradesh) 2:10.40 seconds.

100m hurdles: Moumita Mondal (West Bengal) 13.65 seconds meet record (old record 13.72 secs), Pranjali Dilip Patil (Maharashtra) 13.90 secs, Aparna Roy (Kerala) 14.08 secs.

Pole vault: Sindhushree G (Karnataka) 3.75m, Nidhi (Haryana) 3.70m, Bhavya Jain (Madhya Pradesh) 3.50m.

Discus throw: Anisha (Delhi) 47.60m, Nistha (Haryana), 44.44m, Anusha Yadav (Delhi) 44.23m.

3000m steeplechase: Bhagwati Deora (Rajasthan) 10:48.40 secs, Meena (Haryana) 11:00.39 secs, Vaishnavi Vilasrao (Maharashtra) 11:06.79 secs.

20,000m race walk: Sejal Anil Singh (Maharashtra) 1:37:53.71 meet record (old record 1:40:02), Mansi Negi (Uttarakhand) 1:38:0.37, Preeti (Haryana) 1:41:31.57.


100m: Tamil Arasu S (Tamil Nadu) 10.54 seconds, Saisiddharth R (Tamil Nadu) 10.62 secs, Lalu Prasad Bhoi (Odisha) 10.54 secs.

400m: Rince Joseph (Kerala) 46.91 seconds, Dharamveer Chaudhary (Rajasthan) 47.05 secs, Aman Chaudhary (Delhi) 47.09 secs.

800m: Satyajeet Suresh Pujari (Maharashtra) 1:51.94 seconds, Gaurav Attri (Haryana) 1:52.09 seconds, Salman Farookh (Kerala) 1:52.16

110m hurdles: Tejas Ashok Shirse (Maharashtra) 13.71 seconds meet record (old 14.12 secs), A Graceson Jeeva (Odisha) 14.02 secs, Dhanush Adithan G (Tamil Nadu) 14.21 secs.

3000m steeplechase: Sunil Joliya Jinabhai (Gujarat) 8:39.98 seconds meet record (old 8:49.13 secs), Sourabh Antil (Haryana) 8:43.29 secs, Sushant Manohar (Maharashtra) 8:51.96 secs.

Discus throw: Dinesh Kumar (Rajasthan) 53.66m meet record (old record 53.27m), Oinam Singh (Manipur) 53.56m, Navjot Singh (Chandigarh) 51.82m.

Shot put: Dhanvir Singh (Punjab) 19.56m meet record (old record 17.79m), Amandeep Singh (Punjab) 17.50m, Aniket (Uttarakhand) 17.24m.

20,000m race walk: Sanjay Kumar (Rajasthan) 1:28:53.92, N William Singh (Manipur) 1:28:57.61, Raj Mishra (Telangana) 1:29:22.68.