Maharashtra’s distance runners dominate 10,000m event on Day-One of 3rd National Open U23 Athletics Meet

AFI Media


Maharashtra’s distance runners dominated the 10,000m event on the opening day of the third edition of the National Open U23 Athletics Championships here on Friday. While Punjab’s Dhanvir Singh improved the meet record in the qualification round of men’s shot put with a throw of 18.25m.

Shadab Pathan sprinted home to win the men’s 10,000m title, while Prajkta Parasharam was winner in the women’s 25 lap race to add second gold to Maharashtra’s kitty.

The men’s 10,000m was a close race. Pathan shifted gears on the last lap of the race to cross the finish line in 30:11.06 seconds, ahead of Parvej of Delhi whose silver winning time was 30:11.09 seconds. Sachin Kundu of Chhattisgarh won bronze with a time of 30:11.14 seconds.

In the women’s 10,000m event, Prajkta’s gold medal winning time was 35:51.29. Basanti Kumari of Jharkhand took home silver with a time of 36:03.27. Rajasthan’s Chatru clocked 36:22.57 to win bronze.

Maharashtra’s third gold medal of the day came in the women’s triple jump through Sharvari Avinash Parule. Her gold-medal winning jump was 13.16m.

The men’s triple jump title went to Tamil Nadu’s Mohanraj J. His gold medal winning distance was 15.87m.

Maharashtra’s Kushal Kumar was leading day one of the decathlon with 3675 points.

Punjab’s Dhanvir Singh improved the meet record in the qualification round of men’s shot put with a throw of 18.25m.

In the preliminary round of the 100m dash, Odisha’s talented sprinter Lalu Prasad Bhoi looks strong contender for a medal. He was fastest in the heats. His time was 10.63 seconds. He clocked 10.56 seconds in the semis to advance to the final.

Tamil Nadu’s Tamil Arasu S has also emerged as one of the contenders for the medal in the men’s 100m dash. His time in the semis was 10.54 seconds. He has moved to the final.

In the women’s 100m preliminary round, Chelimi of Andhra Pradesh clocked 11.93 seconds in heats to send a warning signal to her rivals. She further improved to 11.81 seconds in the semis.

Pavithra R of Tamil Nadu was second fastest sprinter in semis as she clocked 11.92 seconds. She has also advanced to the finals.



10,000m: Shadab Pathan (Maharashtra) 30:11.06 seconds, Parvej (Delhi) 30:11.09 seconds, Sachin Kundu (Chhattisgarh) 30:11.14 seconds.

Pole vault: Shekhar Kumar Pandey (Uttar Pradesh) 4.95m, A Gnana Sone (Tamil Nadu) 4.80m, Kuldeep Kumar (UP) 4.80m.

Triple jump: Mohanraj J (Tamil Nadu) 15.87m, Vishal Bahadur (Jharkhand) 15.70m, Akash M Varghese (Kerala) 15.54m


10,000m: Prajkta Parasharam (Maharashtra) 35:51.29, Basanti Kumari (Jharkhand) 36:03.27, Chatru (Rajasthan) 36:22.57.

Hammer throw: Anisha Dahiya (Haryana) 51.24m, Trisha Rani (Punjab) 50.04m, Mital Solanki (Gujarat) 49.40m.

Shot put: Jasmine Kaur (Punjab) 14.67m, Shiksha (Haryana) 14.52m, Simranjeet Kaur (Haryana) 14.51m

Triple jump: Sharvari Avinash Parule (Maharashtra) 13.16m, Babisha P (Tamil Nadu) 13.07m, Deepanshi Singh (Uttar Pradesh) 12.54m