Services and Railways win championship titles at National Cross Country

AFI Media ,14 January 2018

Goa. Men’s from Services bagged championship title while Women’s helped Railways to finish on top in the Seniors category at the 52nd National Cross-Country Championships held at GEC Ground in Ponda- Goa on Sunday.

In Men’s 10km event, Shankar Man Thapa of Services won the gold medal with a timing of 30:10.50 min. Pradeep Singh again from services won silver with timing of 30:12.80 min. Arjun Kumar of Railways secured 3rd place with timing of 30:13.70 min. Services secured overall first team position with score of 19 with it’s four runners in top 10. Railways secured second place with score of 28 and again it’s four runners were in top 10. Maharashtra was third with a score of 63.

Sanjeevani Babu of Athletics Federation of India-Maharashtra team bagged gold in the Women’s 10km race with the timing of 34:27.30 while Olympian Lalita Babar representing Railways settled for the silver with the timing of 35:15.70 followed by Railways team-mate Swati Gadhave (35:22.40) on third place.  Railways finished on top in this category with a score of 15 while Maharashtra ended second with a score of 31.

In boy’s U20 8km event, Ajay Kumar of UP clocked 25:23.80 to secure first position. Rohit (25:31.20, AFI-Punjab) and Dharmendra (25:39.50, UP) secured second and third position, respectively. Overall, UP with a score of 19 were placed at first position followed by AFI team (27) and Punjab (44).

In girl’s U20 6km category, Poonam Sonune (AFI Maharashtra) won the gold with the timing of 21:29.10. Kavita (21:32.90) and Khushbu (22:12.20), both from UP, secured second and third places, respectively. Overall UP, Himachal and Maharashtra secured top-3 positions with the score of 30, 46 and 53, respectively.

Other results:
Boy’s U18 (6km)- 1 Anil Bamaniya (19:06.40, Odisha), 2 Vikas (19:15.70, Haryana), 3 Shivam Yadav (19:24.40, AFI Madhya Pradesh)

Girl’s U18 (4km)- 1 Chatru (14:19.50, Rajasthan), 2 G Maheshwari (14.37.30, Telangana), 3 Akanksha Prakas Shelar (14.46.90, AFI-Maharashtra)

Boy’s U16 (2km)-1 Amit Kumar (5:47.40, Rajasthan), 2 Suraj Pal (5:48.60, UP), 3 Anil Pandya (5:49.10, Odisha)

Girls U16 (2km)- 1 Tai Hirman (6:41.60, Maharashtra), 2 Baria Mittal (6:52.40, Gujarat), 3 Bhagya Laxmi (6:56.30, Telangana).

All Results – Click Here